Best writing experience across iPad/iMac?

I recently traded in my MBP for an iMac/iPad combo and am finding it hard to find a sophisticated writing program that works elegantly across both devices. Normally I’d use Scrivener, but the syncing is complicated and I don’t want to download Dropbox. I’m thinking Ulysses may be the answer, but I wonder if there are other programs I’m not thinking of. Thanks!

What about Pages?
And 20more characters…

3 Likes

I’ve been using Ulysses for writing projects for many years and continue to enjoy using it on both my iPad and Macs (and occasionally my iPhone). I appreciate how easy it is to transition between devices and syncing is very reliable in my experience. And I appreciate that Ulysses is based on Markdown.

There are a lot of thoughtful touches that make Ulysses especially well suited to writing. As a result, I find that I go into writing mode as soon as I launch Ulysses.

Among other things, I like being able to set writing goals (e.g. 2,000 words) and visually monitor progress toward my target. I often use the outline sidebar, which dynamically builds an outline using headings; it’s especially helpful for longer documents. I sometimes use Ulysses for writing scripts for videos and seeing the reading time is helpful. I also find that Ulysses’ built-in spelling and grammar checker works well and is a nice complement to Grammarly.

As a bonus, Ulysses is included with the Setapp subscription.

I hope this helps. Happy writing!

1 Like

Is it really!?
When I tried Setapp, a couple of weeks ago, I only could get the iOS-Version of Ulysses.
That was one of the reasons, while I cx. Setapp again.

I agree with everything @timstringer wrote.

I’ve tried several programs, including Scrivener. I’ve happily committed to Ulysses for all of my short and long-form writing–including a book project.

2 Likes