Beware of Being Locked Out by 1Password

I have been using 1Password for several years. Earlier this year while I was in Russia, I had to renew my 1Password subscription. I was not able to do that because I was in Russia even though my payment system is set up with a Canadian credit card. I was still not able to make a payment, and then my password Syncing stopped working. Even after returning to Canada and contacting 1Password support I still got a message saying that 1Password cannot accept payments from non supported country.

Even though I am currently in Canada and using a Canadian credit card, my account is still locked out. I am switching to a different password manager that focuses on providing service rather than a political agenda.

Maybe ā€œlocked outā€ is not the rights words to describe the issue. I can still get my data out. Currently looking for alternatives.

2 Likes

One day, during the covid lockdown, I failed to log into my bank twice before I noticed the ā€˜VPNā€™ in the corner of my iPad. I turned it off and was able to log in on the third try. Iā€™m not surprised that 1PW uses a similar security policy as my bank.

I am surprised that they havenā€™t helped you resolve your problem. They were extremely helpful the one time I had to contact them. What did they say when you talked to them?

1 Like

In many cases this isnā€™t a political choice by a software vendor, rather itā€™s an attempt to comply with the law.

When a country is sanctioned by another country (as Russia widely was when it entered Ukraine), by the laws in those lands, it is not lawful to do business with any organisation or individual which is in those sanctioned countries.

There are a hell of a lot of nuances around sanctions and Iā€™ve only ever scratched the surface in my role, but I suspect that 1Password was simply trying to comply with the law, and the simplest technical way to do that is by using the IP address.