Blogging platform for novice

I have been reading some discussions on blogging on MPU

As a novice, I understand that there are a number of options, including

1. self hosted blog site , perhaps using WordPress (.org or .com)
  2. hosted services, such as medium.com , ghost , micro.blog, etc

At the moment, I am more included to go down #2 and may be using micro.blog. I have been a paid member of medium.com and I am still not sure whether I can publish there without a paid subscription

Just wondering there is any other advice people can offer here, and help me to choose between micro.blog and medium.com , or may be other preferred option that I have not explored

Hello,
Let me try to help as much as I can through some bullets:

1. Wordpress.com falls under category 2, it’s a managed service for a monthly subscription.
  2. Self hosted solutions will increase the initial friction, and by the time you have the blog up and running, you’ll lose interest.
  3. You can publish on medium whether you have paid subscription or not. However, you need paid subscription to connect your custom domain to your publishing.
  4. Micro.blog is great, but it has a very limited set of features. Plus I don’t see the team adding any features, they still offer the same features that they were offering since the Kickstarter campaign many years ago, except for podcast hosting.
  5. Medium: you don’t have control over what gets displayed on the page unfortunately and you can’t install any plugins or add any features down the road.
  6. Ghost is amazing, but it’s more directed towards subscription for your readers, for instance, I could not find a way to remove the huge subscribe button on the page from any theme I tried.
  7. Wordpress.com is more expensive, especially if you went up the tier that offers custom plugins.