Drafts for Mac -- beta now available

Drafts for Mac beta is available here

https://getdrafts.com/mac/beta/

No Actions (yet).

Syncs with iCloud if you have a Drafts Pro subscription on iOS.

Nice menubar widget for quick capture.

7 Likes

Thanks for sharing, finally…glad to see it on Mac.

Very excited about this. Since downloading yesterday, I’ve been taking another look at using drafts for my main notes app / repository and maybe writing environment.

This could be the reason for me to finally upgrade my OS after many years.

So exciting!!! Bummed about potentially needing Mojave. 2 of my computers don’t support it.

This is definitely interesting. This might change everything about how I handle text. If Drafts for the Mac is good. I might just ditch Notes.app and Ulysses and go with one app for all my notes and writing.

I’m not a Drafts Pro subscriber yet… So I’m hesitant do download the beta. I have too many important notes in Drafts on iOS for playing around with a beta :blush:

@KevinR @andreasl I’ve tried using one app for notes AND writing, and found that did not work. Two separate processes, two separate tools.

Plus my notes often contain images.

I find my brain seems to want to separate documents by ephemerality, and Drafts is the primary solution to that problem. I’ve used Drafts on the iPhone, and an app called SwiftText on the Mac, for digital scratch paper – the digital equivalent of the notepad we used to keep next to our landlines back in the 20th Century. I also use it for information I want to keep for hours or days, but not longer than that. For example: I travel frequently on business, and when I check into a hotel, I keep the room number stored as a note in Drafts.

I like the idea of being able to easily sync that kind of thing between the Mac and iOS. And SwiftText didn’t give me the ability to easily separate notes; it was all one big document. So overall, the availability of Drafts for Mac is a very positive development for me.