Eyestrain and blurry vision when using Macs (but not Windows computers); no idea why - advice needed

Hello dear Macpoweruser community

After lurking these forums for quite some time (and having learnt a lot from your expertise – thank you so much!), my first post here unfortunately is a question that is concerning me for quite some time.

Although I love almost everything on the Mac side much more than on Windows, I experience severe eyestrain / fuzzy eyesight, drowsiness and headaches when reading / writing longer texts on my Macs. This does not happen to me on windows (or Ipad), and it’s driving me crazy.

Do any of you also experience more eyestrain when using Apple computers than when using Windows (or Android / Chromebooks / Ipads etc.)?

Some background.

I hugely prefer OSX to Windows. I’ve made the switch several years ago, and all in all, the experience has been great (I own several Macbooks, Ipads, and an Imac). My work as a teacher and researcher as well as my hobbies (reading, writing, making music) let me stare several hours a day into a computer screen.

On Windows computers or my Ipad (also Android phone), I can do that for hours nonstop without any problems. But when using Macs (16 and 12 inch Macbook, Imac Retina), I get blurry vision and severe eyestrain within minutes. Often, this is so severe that I am not able to focus anymore on the texts I have to read and write.

I tried to research this topic – the internet is full of similar user experiences, but there seems to be no conclusive answer, and many brush this off as “psychosomatic” or psychological, which it clearly is not.

I’ve tried all the advices, including:

• Only use the properly scaled screen resolutions (as down- or upscaling introduces some blurriness)
  • Playing with all the contrast settings