First time using a Laptop

I’ve been using Desktops for more than two decades.
Celeron → Pentium 4 → iMac 2011 → Mac Mini 2018

I just purchased a M3 Pro Macbook Pro (11c/14c 512g 18g) and will receive it tomorrow. It’s a big system upgrade for me and a big mental shift as I’ve always stayed in my home studio/office attached to my desktop and never had a computing device on the go.

• Please suggest tips or things to take care of that might not be obvious to me.
  • I’ve got tons of utility apps for my desktop macs, what laptop-specific apps are a must-have?
  • Essential accessories?

TIA :pray:t2:

I’ve used portable devices since c.1987. Many of those devices req’d repair or other attention.

My most important bit of advice is to remind you that a laptop is more fragile and at risk of damage that a desktop. Apple laptops are robust, but nothing is perfect.

Damage can come from anywhere. Self-inflicted (dropping, losing, spillage, etc.) or from someone else (spillage in a coffee shop from someone tripping and … yes, happened to me, theft, etc.). Be gentle and protective.

Get a good way to transport the machine … I use a padded sleeve and use the laptop pouch in my backpack. Perhaps redundant, but I do it.

I carry a proper screen cleaning cloth. More dirt from the environment will stick to the laptop as you are out and about.

I use a VPN when connecting to WiFi’s, for security—real or imagined, not sure. Other than that I can’t think of any laptop-specific apps for laptops that I’d recommend as even close to “must-have”.

10 Likes

These are excellent suggestions

Yup, this is why this was accompanied by my first-ever AppleCare+ purchase.

I was thinking either or, but will consider both.

Do I need to buy the infamous apple cloth? :sweat_smile:

Al Dente has really slowed down the degradation of my MacBook’s battery.

The notch has made Bartender even more essential for managing the menu bar.