How do you edit your personal photos?

This isn’t a cool workflow of mine, but I’m trying to figure one out as I find how I edit my photos is very basic. I have over 10,000 photos from the past decade and I simply use Edit > Crop / Rotate > Auto Enhance > maybe Brighten / Darken and that’s it. Then I share them to family or add them to a local album (e.g. car photos). That’s it.

I do have Affinity Photo and Affinity Designer installed, but exporting and re-importing photos seems a lot of work. But more so, when I learned to use some of Affinity’s advanced features, it was fine for say editing a funny pic to send to friends, or editing out blemishes etc. but for real world, real memories and sentimentally valuable photos… how do you actually use it / make edits that make sense? You know… I’m no expert but would like to know from you guys what I could be doing when editing to make my photos better quality.

What you’re doing is generally all that’s needed with modern cameras and phones. Increasing vibrancy is the other one I like.
I have about 300 really favourite photos out of my 5000 photo library (I delete aggressively).

From that subset, I’d guess I have done further editing on about 80 of them only. I’d use Pixelmator or similar to adjust the black and shadows, shift colours (eg to make the sea more blue or green), remove distracting twigs or people, sharpen eyes, soften/darken backgrounds.
But again, I only bother on the best of my best photos.

2 Likes

I generally do the same as you have specified. When a photo cannot be improved in Photos (no matter what I try it looks bad), I use Pixelmator Pro. I find it has much more advanced tools for improving images and can rescue photos taken in poor conditions. I also use the Affinity applications, but for preparing and creating images for websites rather than touching up photos.

2 Likes