iOS Software Keyboards — What Do You Use

For slide typing, Google & Padkeys. For symbols Unichar. Gboard swift input… Padkeys for the complete keyboard… Google has great acceptance/recognition of near enough swipes and swiftly moving finger swipes. But Padkeys is the one i use because of the layout. Since I discovered UniChar I have more fun with symbols.

imageimage

Nintype is customizable out the wazoo, supports two-handed slide typing, and enthusiasts claim they can achieve up to 130 wpm with hit.

I can’t even type 130 wpm on a regular keyboard.

I tried Nintype for a while but I determined I’m just not smart enough for it.

2 Likes

i tried nintype on and off for a while. It’s just too buggy for normal use. Gave up and moved to Gboard.

2 Likes

I use Gboard. If Apple introduces Swype typing to its keyboard I would give up Gboard.

1 Like

Haven’t tied it. Not updated in a year is concerning.

I’ve been using SwiftKey for a couple years now and really like it. Every now and then, my iPhone will revert to Apple’s default keyboard, but it’s easy enough to get SwiftKey back again. I wish that Apple would come out with their own keyboard for swipe typing.

1 Like

I use TextExpander keyboard. It provides access to all my shortcuts. I wish they would redo the UI. It’s really ugly and the key to change keyboards is positioned in an odd place.

Just putting this out there for the uninitiated, some keyboards send your keystrokes back to their masters, who can collect personal info, conceivably usernames and passwords, from you. Bitmoji, for example, is one I installed for a few minutes, read the agreement, then deleted.

2 Likes

John, valid point…

PadKeys Keyboard does not use the network and sends no data off your device. No cloud, no accounts, no opting in or opting out.

Their privacy statement has more to say, but this is the heart.