iPhone RAW File? HEIC? or Hallide

I’ve been shooting SLRs → DSLRs → Mirrorless cameras for over 30 yrs now. I’ve been a Lightroom user for over 15yrs - I might even have the CDs for my 1.0 release.

Playing alot more in the world of iPhone photography I’m trying to figure out, which camera app to reach for at any moment.

• iPhone built-in Camera - shoot to RAW? - pro flexibility - change white balance and some exposure in lightroom
  • iPhone built-in Camera HEIC? - pro good guess at white balance and exposure built in to the image
  • Hallide - RAW and Jpeg - two for the price of one.

What are you using? Why?
If you use more than one what makes you switch between each option?

Personally I’ve not got much into playing with camera applications on the phone and usually just use the stock camera app - this isn’t a deliberate selection - it is just because I haven’t invested time in evaluating other options.

To add another option to your list - as you are already a Lightroom user, have you tried the camera app that’s built into Lightroom? Just had a quick look, it appears to be have a few manual controls such as exposure comp, shutter speed, iso etc. There also appears to be option to shoot DNG or jpeg. Any synchronisation with your existing LR catalogue ought to be fairly seamless (you’d hope anyway!).

1 Like

I bought Halide, but it is just a curio to me. If anyone were to do a study of ergonomics in photography, I think smartphones would rank at the bottom of the list. Add a complicated app into the mix and that just gets worse. I hate on screen controls for photography as much as I do for games.

I tell myself I don’t take a lot of iPhone photos, but the truth is I do. What is also true is that they are taken mostly on the spur of the moment and therefore fiddling with finding a particular app and tapping the screen to get the right settings is far from my mind.

That’s what the iPhone is good at:

1. Being ever present.