Is two 27 inch displays overkill?

Is two 27 inch monitors overkill? Would love to hear experiences with this set up.

The LG 27UL850-W 4K display I have is on sale and I’m tempted to add a second monitor before it’s discontinued, but I’ve read conflicting things about it helping with focus. How do you find it, less focus or more productive? I’m a designer developer and I’m thinking Figma design on one screen for reference and browser and code on the other display.

I have two 27’ LG Ultrafines (5k and 4k) and before that, had a 27’ iMac with the 27’ 5k Ultrafine as my secondary screen. I absolutely love this setup. Text is huge, which is really comfortable for the eyes, and it absolutely helps me focus. I usually have Scrivener on the main screen and dictionaries / reference / the occasional browser window for inspiration on the other one. I pilot my secondary apps through Alfred when possible, which allows me to find what I need while never leaving my main app. Hugely useful.

1 Like

I’ve got 3 displays (27" main, 24" ref to the left, 13" MacBook to the right) and love the extra space. I have calendar / Omnifocus on the left, music / focusmate on the right, and that clears up the main central one for whatever I’m working on at the time.

3 Likes

Thanks guys! That’s very helpful.

Bonus question: do you use a dual monitor arm? I really don’t like curved silver bases on the LG monitor and to save desk space I’m thinking about monitor arms, any recommends?

I confirm 100% that these bases suck. They eat up a lot of space for nothing.
I intend to use monitor arms in my next setup when I hopefully move next year, but no current experience, sorry.

I use two separate vesa mount arms attached to the back of my desk. I think this is the one: https://smile.amazon.com/VIVO-Monitor-Adjustable-Articulating-STAND-V001/dp/B00B21TLQU/