Just got a new iPad Pro. What are some good apps to try out

I just got a 12.9” iPad Pro as well as the keyboard and the pencil. In my professional like, I am engineer and physicist. I am also an aspiring writer. Given that, what are some apps that you recommend that would take advantage of the iPad’s power and capabilities?

2 Likes

I’d recommend buying both GoodNotes and Notability for note taking and try them both out. Both Apps are great and it just comes down to personal preference.

I also like PDFViewer to view and annotate PDFs from Files.

4 Likes

What do you expect to do? Write, draw, edit, personal productivity, read web, read books, …?

1 Like

ZoomNotes. GoodNotes. Apple Notes. Procreate. OmniGraffle. Keynote (it’s not just for presentations).

MediaBang Paint is a fun one if you like drawing comics.

There’s the almost mythological race between GoodNotes and Notability, but a friend has been raving about notetaking with the Pencil in NoteShelf.

http://www.noteshelf.net

I’ve played with sketching in Concepts and I think I might like it more than any other sketching app I’ve tried; it seems a cut above in power and options and UI.

For reading and annotating PDFs, Word and PowerPoint documents there’s nothing quite like LiquidText, which is really enhanced with the Pencil. (I’ve standardized on PDF Expert on Mac so I may stick with it on iOS, but LiquidText really is great.)

For free, you might want to look at Microsoft OneNote, which is Pencil-compatible.

https://www.onenote.com/

David Sparks has done videos for the MindNode devs. MindNode is a great mindmapping app can be used with finger or Pencil on the iPad. Great for notetaking, or preparing for long-form writing. (I use an outliner app for that, though.)

I use