Mac Terminal commands and packages / addons - Do you use any?

Hello!
I’m new into using Terminal apps because a lot of GUI apps I was looking at didn’t work for me. I installed Python and brew and it feels like a new world is opening to me. So, can you recommend CLI apps / commands / packages you are using regularly and are better than GUI counterparts?

2 Likes

It might help if you gave some indication of what it is you do with you Mac, and perhaps which GUI apps did not work for you.

This will help target responses to your use cases and needs.

A search of the forums finds this discussion which may be of interest:

2 Likes

I’m a teacher and our schools have bad WIFI, if they have WIFI at all. So I started downloading some Youtube videos with various apps but they are so bad written and clunky and laggy.
I tried yt-dlp and it works like a charm.

I archived a lot of old docs with Winrar back in my Windows days some 20 years ago. I was looking for an app but didn’t like the implementation and so I tried unrar you can get through homebrew and it also works so nice.

I installed a python crossword maker, I’m making my own crosswords and word search games for my students, without having to think about some copyright.

I wrote some Python scripts with the help of ChatGPT to scramble words or sentences for my worksheets.

I found out today that there is a speedtest CLI to test my internet connection.

So I was wondering: are there more useful tools I don’t even know? Password managers? Email apps?

I stumbled upon this list a week or so ago. I do not use CLI password manager or email app, so I cannot speak to the quality of the recommendations (and a quick perusal did not reveal an email app):

Note that some applications have associated CLI tools. For example, BBEdit has a command line tool to invoke the app.

Have fun poking around and trying things out.

1 Like