MacUpdater ($10/once) is much better than MacUpdate ($40/year)

I have been using MacUpdate Desktop on and off for several years, but have never been thrilled with it. For $40/year (they sell it as $20/six months for some reason, presumably to make people think it costs less) there was very little progress on the app or service.

Although the MacUpdate website is a nice service for the community, the app itself is not great.

A little over a year ago I came across MacUpdater which is a much better app, and which finds many more app updates. The best part is that the app is a one-time fee of 9.99$/€ rather than a subscription.

The app has been very well supported and regularly updated, and I can heartily recommend it.

6 Likes

I will second the recommendation.

I was a past user of MacUpdate Desktop but stopped buying it when they went to the current pricing. I was recently made aware of MacUpdater and ran the free trial before deciding I wanted to purchase.

I recently has to submit two reports about apps that were showing up with updates available that weren’t true and the both were responded to quickly.

I recently bought macupdater (following @tjluoma advice in a topic about mac AppStore updating problems) and I can second (or third :thinking::roll_eyes:) the recommendation too.

Great little app, worth the price.

Maybe I’m grandfathered in, but I’m paying $20/yr for my yearly Macupdate membership, not $40.

The watch lists and the 1-click installs are worth it for me, and I like supporting the website, which is open to all (without the app or the watchlists). After Versiontracker died this is the last good site which offers Apple-specific info and downloads and user-votes (with upvoted app alternatives). While there are several sites like AlternativeTo which have votes and app alternatives, I do appreciate the all-in-one, Apple-oriented focus of MacUpdate.

tw: subscription