OmniFocus: View Calendar or Not?

In a prior post I shared why I’ve moved back to OF. I had used it extensively several years ago so it has not taken me long to get back up to speed. But I have a question for current OF users. Do you or do you not have OF show your calendar within the app.? I have toggled the calendar view on and off and can’t quite decide if I like the calendar view in OF or prefer to only view events in the calendar app.

What is your preference and why?

I am not using the Forecast view at all which I find clumsy to use, so the calendar view is of no use to me. Instead I use a custom perspective called “Radar” sorting tasks by due date, and I use my calendar and watch to keep track of time-based events.

I’m a freelancer working most of the time from home and able to time-block my time extensively, though, so this calendar feature might be much more useful to somebody with a lot of time-based commitments during the day.

I use the calendar on – selecting for my work calendar and my personal calendar. I live in Forecast perspective. The calendar view for the selected date in Forecast integrated scheduled tasks and scheduled events (or all day events) in one integrated display, which I find very useful. It’s one of the main reasons I don’t switch to other task managers (like ToDoist) that put tasks on a calendar.

I use other perspectives to manage priorities, scan backlog, remove or change tasks as needed. But once scheduled, it’s Forecast perspective and the calendar that are the hub for me.

(FWIW, I also use the “Today” tag to bring to the forefront in the Forecast perspective past due things that have been hanging around as important to do, but haven’t been.)

I find it helpful. Coming from a GTD perspective I like that one page to see my day specific data - appointments, actions or information. It reminds me of my old Time/Design paper system which gave me the same view.