Outlining Software Recommendations?

I’ve been using OmniOutliner—the functionality is there, the Mac and iOS syncing is frustrating…and it’s biggest detriment is that it is very ugly.

I’m a Professor and use it most often to outline courses, lectures, projects.

Any other great programs I should look at?

Want:
iOS and Mac functionality
Paid app is fine but I prefer to avoid subscriptions if possible
Great interface that could even be “delightful” to use (like Things for to-dos)

Thanks for any help.

1 Like

I don’t know if I see anything “ugly” about OmniOutliner. It gets the job done. I don’t use all of the features that are available in OmniOutliner. Maybe the repulsion is because there is so much stuff hiding and waiting for us to discover it?

Once I mastered the level styling, I felt more at ease with OmniOutliner.

Maybe we feel better when we like simple streamlined software?

I like MindNode but I prefer iThoughts X for my work. They’re mind mapping software but they do have an outline view. But it won’t have the ability to create columns like OmniOutliner does.

Numbers has a checkbox feature to create in their documents. Apple Pages and Microsoft Word has basic outlining features. Not sure what is else out there.

I’ve seen Outline for Mac but haven’t tried it.

http://outline.ws/mac

I agree re: OO - I had a Pro license with v3 but it never stuck, in part b/c of aesthetics and the very unintuitive styling system.

I do most of my outlining in TaskPaper which can be converted to Keynote and/or Markdown easily.

But lately I’m much more likely to start in MindNode than an outliner.

1 Like

I don’t use OO much – it’s fussy and the iOS app is horrible on a phone. An outliner should be unobtrusive, which OO definitely is not. Just my opinion.