[Poll] What is your primary browser on macOS?

[REASON FOR CHOOSING IN COMMENTS]

• Safari
  • Chrome
  • Firefox
  • Edge
  • Brave
  • Other (in comment)

0 voters

Firefox. Privacy controls, containers

4 Likes

Firefox: Best support for HTML5 Canvas. Most notably the ability to save the contents as a graphic.

Firefox. Containers and speed.

Firefox. For privacy, containers and extensions that are often unique to the platform.

I just started playing with Orion today also, it’s webkit-based but can run firefox extensions. It’s too early to tell what it’s worth though.

1 Like

Chrome because office’s Google account and web development

I am also trying to use Orion instead of Safari. Better experiences so far, the thing I currently don’t like is lack of hand-off capability from macOS to iOS (iOS to macOS works fine). The dev say next update will allow mac → iphone hand-off

2 Likes

Safari: private relay, add to reading list available everywhere, cross-device bookmarks and tabs without any fuss. Tab groups.

If I have to have something Chrome, I use Brave.

5 Likes

Brave for internet browsing. Few needed plugins for productivity and maximised security settings.

I use Vivaldi with tiled tabs to run my work Office365 (2 Teams tabs or Outlook Mail and Calendar side by side). This saves me from having to use another laptop at the same time. Work laptop does not allow VNC/RDP.

2 Likes

Safari: extensions and cross-platform handoffs (reading list, iCloud Tabs, etc.). I use Chrome for any Google apps, and Edge for any Microsoft cloud apps.

3 Likes

I’m one of the miscreants who chose Chrome. Sorry. I do so because most of my website’s visitors do, and using Chrome makes it easier to develop for them accordingly.