Recommendations on tech for making videos for teaching?

Does anyone have recommendations on tools and tips for making tutorials and educational videos?

I’m a professor and as you all know our classes had to go online midsemester with no time to prepare. I’m sad to say that my videos were pretty boring. Just me speaking over my slides. I’m looking for tech, software, and advice on making tutorial videos (is there an MPU episode on this?). Tips on engaging viewers or speaking more comfortably to the camera. Tips on streamlining the post-processing process?

I’m excited to buy learn new gear and skill, but I know this sometimes leads me to not making the best purchasing decisions.

2 Likes

Hi. I’ve gone through a lot of this and now I’m making short lesson videos for my A Level students.

A lot depends on your style, so try to understand that. I’m going for instructional lessons that go over the key learning points in the way I want them. I haven’t gotten on to demos yet.

My main tip came from my wife as she listened to me: sound interesting. I try to do this by writing a script and then recording the audio separately from the video. It is time consuming, but let’s me focus on content in the script, then on enunciation, energy and enjoyment in the recording. I record this using Quicktime through a Scarlett pre-amp. Use a strong voice and a pop filter to dramatically improve sound quality.

At the start and end of every video I do a short bit to the camera. I used to use my iPhone, then when I changed to my OMD camera, I was amazed how much better (and real) I looked.

I import these into Final Cut Pro, which can synchronise them. I also use RX7 to denoise the audio (and a couple of other filters).

I then play this at half speed. I have my slides in Explain Everything on my iPad and annotate the slides etc whilst listening to the recording.

I then import that to Final Cut Pro, tidy up and it’s done.