Roam vs. Obsidian: A 30-day Reflection

Memorial Day weekend I decided to go all-in with Roam Research for the month of June. I purchased Nat Eliason’s course on Roam, which is a great overview and gets you up-and-running with Roam in a short time.

Previously, I invested about three months into Obsidian. I used NotePlan 3 on my iPad to access my Obsidian vault on the go.

TL;DR - I really like the way Roam connects thoughts, and it seems to be a much simpler app to use with the power available if one needs it, but basic day-to-day work is pretty straightforward. But, there is a nagging unease because it is a web app and it is a proprietary file system.

Here are some bullet point observations:

• I am not a lawyer or someone who works with sensitive information, so security is not a deal-breaker for me. My previous note-taking app of choice was Evernote, which had security issues of its own.
  • Regarding the proprietary file system: while this is certainly the case for Roam, is it not also the case in Obsidian when it comes to the inter-note connections? Yes, the files are in plain markdown text on your hard drive, but the value of Zettelkasten is in the connection between ideas. These connections are lost without Obsidian. Correct?