Thinking about a desk shelf

Is the GroveMade desk shelf really all that? The price seems to be up to $240 (although I think they will offer 10% off a first-time purchase, but tha’st still $216) for the plywood version, which I suspect is sufficient vs the even more expensive solid wood version.

There are many alternatives online, at a variety of prices from much cheaper to even more expensive. I’m not an expert woodworker, so while I could in theory make my own, the reality is that the time cost for me to do so would exceed the cost savings after material purchase compared to purchasing one.

The GroveMade is about the best looking one based on a not very complete surfing of the web to look at different choices. Is it really that good, or do I get a less stylish but much less expensive alternative?

My monitor shelf is a 2x12 on a set of IKEA CAPITA Legs.

1 Like

It’s a different setup than what GroveMade offers, but I picked up a Raise 24" by Fluidstance last year which can handle a single monitor and elevates it to a decent height for my use case. I’ve been really happy with it.

It too is a bit high in price but it is really sturdy in build and in the quality of the materials. I kept going back and forth on whether to buy something cheaper but every time I almost ordered a really cheap desk shelf off of Amazon instead, I kept imagining the shelf suddenly collapsing and my monitor crashing onto my laptop and any other device on my desk. Maybe it’s an odd fear but I’ve had a lot of cheap stuff break over the years and try to avoid that in my life these days, it’s just not worth the hassle. The peace of mind knowing this will hold together for years to come has been worth that in itself.

I have used the Capita legs, as well as shorter ones from Home Depot, and a nice piece of stained wood. Also from Home Depot, but you could get this sort of thing from anywhere.