Why is everyone writing about Windows 11 rather than the Apple betas?

Seriously….is everyone waiting for the public betas? Or are the Dev betas just running so smoothly that there’s nothing new to say?

I do not see very much that really drives me into installing the betas. I am fine and happy with the public releases as of now. The on-device Siri is interesting. Apart from that, there are a lot of improvements that are interesting. But nothing that is that interesting that makes me want to install the betas.

Disclaimer: I never saw a developer beta worthwhile as I am no developer. I am fine with Public Betas. Then again, I do not see myself installing them either any time soon. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I think there is usually little chat about the developer betas, that’s my recollection anyway and I think that’s the way it should be.
Public betas tend to get more chat going.

1 Like

Non-public beta users (at least some of them) are under NDA, so don’t chat about them

1 Like

And it basically costs $99 per year to have access to dev betas, whereas public ones are free for people to play with - so it makes sense that public betas get more attention. :slight_smile:

Subjectively, Windows 11 is much more exciting than the snoozefest that was WWDC21. Windows just had its “macOS Big Sur” moment.

2 Likes

The headline features of the Apple betas (SharePlay, Shortcuts-on-the-Mac, ‘free range’ Widgets on the iPad, etc), for the most part, will require apps that support them.

Until those apps are updated, there’s not a whole lot to say.

ShortCuts on the Mac was pretty unstable / unusable in the Dev Beta 1 and some of the functionality hasn’t even been enabled yet.

iOS 15 and Monterey are definitely not as splashy as some of the other years (which I am perfectly happy with, hopefully it’ll be a good year for bug fixes and refinements).