Help me decide between a MacBook Air and MacBook Pro

It’s time to upgrade my 2018 MacBook Pro, and I need help deciding between a MacBook Air or Pro.

I’m a writer. 99% of what I do is extremely do-able on a MBA. However:

• I’d like to have the option to run generative AI locally. I guess that means I need to install an LLM? I don’t know what I’m doing here–that’s a major reason I want to install this software locally—I want to learn! Do I need to have a MBP to do that, or will the software run fine on a MacBook Air?
  • I’d like to have the option to run multi-monitors. As I understand it, that’s not officially supported with the MBA, however I’ve seen workarounds online that look pretty simple to accomplish, with the help of a Thunderbolt hub costing several hundred dollars–a price I’m willing to pay. Are these workarounds reliable?

If I go with the MBA, I’ll wait until the new models ship, which seems likely to happen in a few weeks

Thanks!

2 Likes

I don’t have experience with running an LLM locally yet but I assume that would require more RAM so you’d be looking at a 16 GB machine.

The problem with the Air (especially the 15” one) is that once you upgrade the configuration to 16 gigs of memory then the 14” M3 Pro with 18 gigs of RAM and a much nicer mini LED display (and a number of other upgrades) is not that much more expensive, plus it supports multiple displays natively.

3 Likes

I absolutely love my MBA 15 inch. I got the 8GB ram version initially, because it was available off the shelf (and the closest Apple Store is 3000km away), and it was great for everything I needed to do … except some video stuff. I upgraded to an identical looking MBA, but bumped the memory up to 24GB, which is probably overkill, but it is now just the most beautiful machine I’ve ever owned.

I also have an M1 16 inch MBP, and it feels soooooo heavy by comparison.

I too am a writer.

3 Likes