How do you visualize your work, week by week, from a 10,000 foot perspective?

I’ve been wrestling with this for a while now, and I can’t seem to figure out a good way to achieve what I’m wanting.

I’m a freelance video editor and manage a lot of individual projects. When considering new projects/clients, I need to take a good look at my calendar, see my general availability, and compare it to when the client wants their deliverable. Usually I just kind of scan through my due dates in OmniFocus, do some terrible napkin math, then accept or decline the job depending on whether I think I’ve got the bandwidth to get it done on time and at a high level of quality. I have, however (and unsurprisingly), gotten myself into trouble in the past, and am wondering if there’s a better method out there to prevent future over- or under-committing my time. I’d obviously like to fill as much time as reasonably possible to put food on the table, but I don’t want to pull all-nighters either. :slight_smile:

I’ve messed around with timeline views in Notion, calendar groups in Fantastical where I only have project calendars, and use all-day events to indicate which projects I’m working on when, and few other various tools. They all haven’t really been super helpful, and require a lot of upkeep, it seems.

I enjoy time-blocking as much as possible, but that’s very much in the weeds and day-to-day stuff. I’m talking about developing a method where I can confidently tell a client that I can take their project on and deliver something to them anywhere from 3 weeks to 3 months from the time I talk with them.

Is there a method or tool out there that I haven’t found yet? How does everyone here solve this problem in their professional and person life?

3 Likes