Obsidian and DEVONThink companions

I am a tech writer by trade, and a Medievalist in terms of academic training and scholarly pursuits. I take a lot of notes, and annotate a lot of .pdf files.

• I am moving 30+ years of notes currently .html and .rtf from VooDoo Pad to Obsidian. These began as HyperCard stacks for my PhD qualifying exams, and teaching notes, and dissertation and journal research, and have been cross-linked from the start.

• I use mostly PDF Expert and an Apple Pencil on an iPad to annotate .pdfs. They are organized in broad categories via folders, with files names being surname_date_key_title_words.pdf.

• I do not use a reference manager, like Endnote or Mandeley or Bookends because they are a PITA in terms of exporting the data directly. Instead I log references in a spreadsheet with a citation, summaries, comments, a link to the file in iCloud, etc.

• I am planning to buy DEVONThink Pro this weekend, and will use it to index the .PDF files. I think I will probably just index them, and not store the actual files in the database.

• ETA: At some point I plan to go back to school for an MLS /Library School MA. So I want to pave the way now, rather than learn DEVONThink then.

My adoption of DEVONThink is largely spurred by the MPU episode 636 Workflows with Ryan JA Murphy.

Does my plan to pair Obsidian and DEVONThink this way make sense?

Any suggestions about how to proceed?

I am looking at previous similar threads in MPU like this one and this one, too.

Thanks

4 Likes

One potential issue if you plan to use DEVONthink To Go and PDF Expert on the iPad is that PDF Expert does not work well with DTTG.