Organizing My Mac

Hi all,

Like many of us, I have been using the Mac for many years. I am curious about setting up the main user folder.

The basic default for files/folders would be in the Mac created Documents folder. This seems to be the default location for various purposes and some application files.

Personally, I do not want my main files mixed in with these default application folders, so I created a folder inside the Documents folder called “MAIN_FILES” and all of my documents and folders go into sub folders inside this “MAIN_FILES” personal folder.

But now I am rethinking this set up. I think it might be best to leave the documents folder alone and let all the default files and folders go inside there.

Instead, I am thinking that I will:

1 - move the “MAIN_FILES” folder - to the root of the user folder.
Or
2 - not use the “MAIN_FILES” folder at all, and instead move its contents (the sub folders) to the root of the user folder.

Q: Does anyone have suggestions or preferences how Best to organize our files/Folders?

Thanks in advance - Dave

I created a docs subfolder within Documents. I wanted more control and it’s also a carryover from when I was on windows. Personally, the Documents folder gets too cluttered for my taste. I stick with this for backup and potential sync purposes.

I always get confused about the “Document Folder”, especially I have 3 Mac . Do they merge into one Document Folder like or iCloud Folder (eg. PDF expert, there is only one PDF expert folder for all Mac and iOS) but I think I see different “Document Folder” for different Mac.

Due to the confusion, I do not set this as the default folder for saving documents. I generally default to saving to the iCloud folder that the app created , such as Pages